Tarawera 87km Course

87km Solo | 2-person relay | 4-person relay


Please note: The 87km course has been reversed (compared with 2017), which means it starts in the Tarawera Forest and finishes in downtown Rotorua.


StartTarawera Forest, Kawerau. Access via bus from Firmin Field, Kawerau. The bus is free for all runners*
Start time7:30am
FinishGovernment Gardens, Rotorua
Aid stations9
Vertical gain+2621m
Vertical loss-2395m
Hardest cutoff pace required (min./km)16:14/km
Expected time first finisher 1:45pm
Expected time last finisher 7am Sunday
Trail typeNative forest single trail 56%, minor forest track / road 27%, farm/park 3%, forest road 8%, public road 6%

* You can self drive to Firmin Field, Kawerau or take an event bus. The bus to Kawerau (free for runners) will depart from the Rotorua Museum from 5.00am to 5.30am on race morning. A second bus to the 87km start-line and the 87km relay second leg changeover will depart from Firmin Field at 6.45am. You cannot self drive to the 87km start.


Aid Station locationDistance from Start (km)Distance from last Aid StationDistance to next Aid StationDistance to Finish
Start: before Fishermans Bridge004.686.9
Fisherman's Bridge4.64.65.982.3
Tarawera Falls209.55.366.9
Tarawera Outlet25.35.37.661.6
Humphries Bay32.97.69.654
Okataina Lodge42.59.616.444.4
Millar Road58.916.46.828
Tikitapu (Blue Lake)65.76.816.221.2
Finish: Government Gardens, Rotorua86.9500

.gpx | .kml | Trace De Trail


LocationLeader time of daySlowest time of dayCut off pace (mins/km)Cut off hrsCut off time*SpectatorsDrop bagsPacers
Start: before Fishermans Bridge7:30am7:30amyes (bus)yes
Fisherman's Bridge7:49am7:30amyes (bus)
Titoki8:15am1:05pm0:31:585:35yes (bus)
Tarawera Falls8:56am3:19pm
Tarawera Outlet9:19am4:33pm0:21:309:034:30pmyes (bus)yes
Humphries Bay9:51am6:20pm
Okataina Lodge10:33am8:35pm0:18:2913:058:35pmyes (bus)yes
Millar Road11:44am12:26pm
Tikitapu (Blue Lake)12:13pm2:01am0:16:5518:312:00amyesyesyes
Finish: Government Gardens, Rotorua1:45pm7:00am0:16:1423:307:00am Sundayyesyes

* All runners must leave the Aid Station BEFORE the cut-off times.


Relay teams

  • Each member of a relay team gets a race number. They are identical and all have your team name on them.
  • Relay changeover points are at Tarawera Outlet (23.6km), Okataina (40.8km) and Tikitapu/Blue Lake (64.0).
  • All relay team runners will receive an individual medal at the finish-line.
  • Team members can run more than one leg if a team-member has dropped out.
  • Two cars per relay team is a good idea to get around the course efficiently (especially for fast teams). The 2nd and 3rd relay team members get a free bus ride to their respective changeover points, these cannot be accessed by car.
  • There are no shirts given to relay team runners. Tarawera t-shirt are available for purchase at our online store, or at the event expo.
  • All race rules and cutoff times apply to relay teams.
  • Relay runners are not allowed to have pacers.
  • Relay team runners do not need drop bags.